Books · Reviews

Blog Blitz: Forgive Me Not By Samantha Tonge

I am so excited to share my review of Forgive Me Not with you as part of the publication day Blog Blitz. Massive thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources and of course the wonderful Samantha Tonge for allowing me to take part.

Synopsis

How far would you go to make amends?

When Emma fled her home at Foxglove Farm, she’d let down and hurt those who cared for her most. But now, two years later, she’s ready to face up to her past; she’s ready to go back.

But Emma’s unannounced return causes more problems than she could have foreseen. The people she knew and loved aren’t ready to forget, let alone forgive. And the one person she wants to reconnect with the most, her mother, can’t remember who she is.

Just as Emma starts to rebuild trust, an uncovered family secret and a shocking past crime threaten her newly forged future…

Sometimes simply saying sorry isn’t enough.

Perfect for readers of Ruth Hogan or Amanda Prowse, this is an extraordinary and unforgettable novel about running away from yourself – and finding a way back.

Review

Emma has been away from home for two years and in that time her problems have spiralled out of control. Having sought help she feels the time has come for her to return home to the family farm and face the mess she left behind when she fled on a whim one evening, leaving everyone and everything she knew behind.

She may have changed, but it’s clear on her return that not only her family but the local villagers can’t bring themselves to believe her. To them Emma is still the same liar and thief that left a trail of destruction her wake and it’s going to take more than a simple “sorry” for them to change their mind. Emma thinks that because she has changed her life she would be welcomed back into the fold like nothing has happened, sadly for her it’s not that simple, life has continued without her. She needs to rake back over the past in order to move forward and learn to forgive herself in the process with the only hope her family and friends will do the same.

This book joins Emma as she is en-route home to visit family and it’s not immediately clear what has happened to her since the last time she was there. The story flits between past and present gradually building a picture of Emma’s relationship with alcohol and the descent she found herself experiencing which lead to her living on the streets in Manchester. Once she hits her rock bottom we are taken on a journey, walking alongside her as she seeks help to change her life. Emma’s situation is so real for so many people and it’s impossible not to warm to her, she was my favourite character and I was rooting for her throughout.

Forgive Me Not pulls no punches, it’s a hard-hitting, gritty read that tells it like it is. Dealing with real, serious issues including homelessness, miscarriage and alcoholism, it’s a world away from Samantha’s previous novel One Summer In Rome. Despite being in stark contrast to her previous work, I absolutely adored this book, it had me in tears – always a sign of a good read – and Samantha’s writing style has the knack of drawing me in making her books extremely difficult to put it down. The story line of this novel is both gripping and thought provoking and really gave me plenty of food for thought about both giving and receiving forgiveness.

About The Author

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK and her passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.

When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.

In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category.

To Find out more about Samantha you can visit her WebsiteFacebook or Twitter accounts.

Samantha Tonge

Forgive Me Not is available to buy now from Amazon, Kobo, Google Store and iBooks.

*We were gifted a copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are our own

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s